Lake Ontario Collaborative Cluster

 

 

 

Cluster Coordinator

 

Dr. Karl Korfmacher
Environmental Science Program Director
Department of Biological Sciences
Rochester Institute of Technology
85 Lomb Memorial Drive
Rochester, NY 14226

kfkscl@rit.edu

 

Cluster News

The Lake Ontario Cluster (Rochester Institute of Technology, SUNY
Brockport, and Monroe Community College) has approached the curriculum
goal of infusing Great Lakes water quality issues and service learning
into courses from a variety of angles.  At SUNY Brockport and MCC, the
focus has been to introduce Great Lakes modules into introductory
course and to expand those over time.  SUNY Brockport has also
involved the work of a USL in lab exercises involving benthic
macroinvertebrates. At RIT, the focus has been on mid-level and
capstone courses.  USLs and community partners have worked with
Environmental Science Field Skills, Great Lakes I and II, and the
Environmental Science Capstone Seminar to expand the scope of group
projects and enhance the outreach component.  For the past few years,
these projects have been presented at Imagine RIT, a public festival
that showcases RIT research and innovation.  Over 40,000 people
attended the 2011 festival, and our exhibit was "liked" by the RIT
Alumni Association (we got a sticker!).  This year's RIT capstone
projects are working with community partners on river otter
monitoring, water quality education and outreach, and a series of
fracking articles for community newspapers (pros and cons of fracking
and a resource library).

 

 

Cluster Contact Information

Faculty

Monroe Community College

Ernie Mellas

emellas@monroecc.edu

Department of Biology

(585) 292-2428

 

The New York State College of Brockport 

Dr. James Haynes jhaynes@brockport.edu

Environmental Science and Biology

(585) 395-5783

 

Rochester Institute of Technology

Dr. Elizabeth Dicesare

ewdsbi@rit.edu

Environmental Science

(585) 475-5922

Dr. Christine Keiner cmkgsh@rit.edu

Science Technology and Society/Public Policy

(585) 475-4698

Dr. Christy Tyler

actsbi@rit.edu

Environmental Science

(585) 475-5042

 

 

 

Stewardship Liaisons

Monroe Community College

Laura Lanzafame

(now SUNY Brockport)

llanzafame001@student.monroecc.edu

Matt Paufve

(now Hobart William Smith College)

mpaufve001@student.monroecc.edu

Johnny Ramus

(now SUNY Geneseo)

jramus001@student.monroecc.edu

 

The New York State

College of Brockport 

Matt Laine

mlaine47@yahoo.com

 

Rochester Institute of Technology

Samantha Gonzalez

sxg8584@rit.edu

Lisa Kratzer

lak4256@rit.edu

Caitlin Treuting

cat1849@rit.edu

Theo Petenzi

tjp4819@rit.edu

 

 


 

Community Partners

High Acres Nature Area (HANA)

Cindy Jessop

425 Perinton Parkway

Fairport, NY 14450

(585) 223-6132

CJessop@wm.com

 

Monroe County Soil & Water Conservation District

Kelly Emerick

Executive Director

1200A Scottsville Road

Suite 160

Rochester, NY 14624

(585) 473-2120

kelly.emerick@ny.nacdnet.net

www.monroecountyswcd.org

 

Wayne County Soil & Water Conservation District

Lindsey M. Gerstenslager

District Manager

10 Leach Road

Lyons, NY 14489

(315) 946-4136

WayneSWCD1@rochester.rr.com

 

Kenny Nelson

Education Animal Programs and Training Coordinator

Seneca Park Zoo Society

2222 St. Paul St.

Rochester, NY 14621

Phone: 585-455-8754

Email: knelson@senecazoo.org